Martin “Sparky” Breen O.C. (Officer Commanding), No.1unit flying column I.R.A Tipperary Town. R.I.P Fuair se bas ar son Saoirse na hEireann.

  Beannacht de leat

 

10603593_10152302852746776_2789381969660376599_n

 

Friends Of Irish Freedom Inc.

This from the James Connolly Assoc. in Australia:

 

Martin “Sparky” Breen O.C. No. 1 Flying Column I.R.A. Tipperary Town.

 

On the day he died, Breen and his two comrades were spotted near his home by Free State soldiers. When commanded to halt, the three I.R.A. men attempted to escape and were fired upon. They took cover and returned fire. It was a short gun battle. After two minutes, Breen’s parabellum jammed. He was shot in the head and died instantly. Sparky Breen died on 10 January 1923 aged 26. He is buried in St. Michael’s Cemetery, Tipperary, Republican Plot.

 

The Gallant Irregulars

 

Oh come in and sit down gentle Cathleen,

Now come in I have good news for ye,

Oh come and sit down my own darling,

Oh come in cried the old mban na tir.

 

Now the old women’s face it grew brighter,

Oh Cathleen O’Connor she cried!,

Oh i put up the gallant irregulars in my little cabin last night.

 

Last night as the cocks they were crowing,

The loud knocking it came to my door,

Sure I knew it was the boys of the column returning,

From an ambush way down in Rossmore.

 

As I gazed threw the slit in the window,

Such a fine sight I never have seen,

For there were the gallant irregulars,

Who were wearing their jackets of green.

 

Well twas quickly they entered my cabin,

As they lay down their guns on the floor,

‘Tis a cold night’ remarked the young captain,

‘To be crossing the sweet Galtymore’,

 

‘Would you fill us a glass and we’ll pay you,

For we’re traitors to england’s proud queen,

And we heard it way over the mountain,

That you keep here a little shebeen’.

 

So twas gayly I filled up their glasses,

Here’s a health to all rebels I cried,

And to all to those battle for freedom,

On the green hills of Ireland they die.

And here’s to the gallant irregulars,

Who fought for their country and I.

 

‘So cheer up my good hearted old woman,

And fill us a glass of poitin’ asked the young captain.

 

And here’s a health to the gallant Sean Treacy,

Sparky Breen and the brave Cathal Brugha,

And the noble and fearless Dinny Lacey,

Who died to give Ireland her due.

With many thanks to: James Connolly Assoc Australia.

 

About seachranaidhe1

About Me I studied for six months training and became certified in Exam 070-271 in May 2010 and shortly after that became certifed in Exam 070-272. I scored highly in both Exams and hope to upgrade my path to M.C.S.A. ( Server Administrator ) in the near future.I also hold Level 2 Qualifications in three subjects Microsoft Word, Microsoft Powerpoint and Microsoft Spreedsheets. I have also expereance with Web Design using Microsoft Front-Page.

Posted on September 12, 2014, in IRISH REPUBLICAN HISTORY. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

